everyday stuff

Of Trips and Birthdays

Food photo created by KamranAydinov – www.freepik.com

I am not fond of celebrations, I mean big celebration for birthdays that is. I used to love it though when I was in high school. Although I can only remember one birthday party from that time. We held it at home and my classmates came (like almost the WHOLE CLASS). We sang karaoke the whole time. Some got drunk from the FRUIT PUNCH and sang the wrong lyrics. It was fun.

Then college happened. I don’t know why, but I also can only remember one birthday celebration from my entire college. Haha! It was just a simple dinner with my closest friends/relatives in a restaurant where my mom worked. What made it memorable was when I sang together with the acoustic band and the vocalist said I look fabulous that night (and I was only wearing a shirt and my skirt uniform, so prolly it was because of my birthday haha). But that really made me happy.

When I graduated in college, I decided not to celebrate birthdays. Instead, I started travelling. Of course, that was where I started having my own salary. The goal was to travel on birthday. If it’s not possible, then at least in a year I should be able to travel. My mom was against the idea since she wanted to celebrate with family but that didn’t stop me from doing what I wanted to do.

Year 2009, was my first solo travel. Since it was a first, I only travelled 3-4 hours away from my city. It was a college classmate’s hometown and their place is known for nice beaches. I boarded the bus and texted my classmate I was on my way to his place, he even thought I was just joking. But 4 hours later I arrived at the terminal and the electricity was out! His family welcomed me anyway. They even thought I was the girlfriend, but NO! Haha! Good friends lang, good friends! XD

Year 2010, I forgot. Might edit this later in case I remember haha!

Year 2011, I had 2 trips. First was a local and international flight with friends. Birthday travel came in as early as summer XD. We went to Manila and Singapore. Of course, it was so fun and memorable! If you want to know the detailed trip, it’s here. Second trip was in Cebu where I visited my best friend. The story is here.

Year 2012, group and solo travel. The group travel was with my colleagues and college classmates. We went to Cebu-Bohol-Boracay which you can read here! My solo travel this time was on my birthday! So let me tell you the story here coz I didn’t make a post on it anymore haha! I went to Ilo-ilo, Camiguin and Bacolod. One of the best travels I did. This was when I first joined Couchsurfing – “Stay with Locals and Meet Travelers”. I didn’t know anyone on this trip and I stayed with strangers whom I became friends with, no hotel accommodations. I was supposed to visit Camiguin only. My host was in Bacolod at that time, so his sister accommodated me in their rest house in Camiguin. They were headed to Bacolod after so I got invited along the way and so I was able to meet my host (where I stayed in his house and met other friends). I went back to Iloilo after that trip. I got another host who showed me some spots in the city. A funny moment with this host was when he introduced me to his family as a Malaysian girl. I was caught off guard but I complied and faked my accent anyway. His uncle really believed it until we were caught because I forgot what the currency of Malaysia was. XD

Year 2013, more couchsurfing travels and CITY change. I resigned from the academe and had a 3 month downtime. Almost broke but I was still able to travel north, spent lazy afternoon in the beaches and the coolest guys in the world – beach and booze ahhh. There was a CS invitation that time asking for a companion on a trip to Mati riding a motorcycle, I volunteered! 4 hours riding a motorcycle under the heat of the sun! We went back to Davao and it was raining heavily! That was one epic ride!

My birthday travel was Voluntouring in Jomalig. A fellow couchsurfer organized this event and I was more than happy to join in the fun!

It was also this year that I decided to transfer in Cebu. My new employer asked me if I was willing to be transferred and without any much hesitation agreed. A leapt of faith, a gamble.

Year 2014, my birthday travel was about KPOP! I attended a CNBLUE concert, SVIP! Haha XD And you know what’s epic? Typhoon Mario also happened on that same day of the concert where I had to fly. Thank God I was able to land safe and sound in Manila and the concert pushed through. Ahh! New found friends for keeps again. I was supposed to stay in a korean spa when someone I befriended from the concert invited me to stay with her. Since then we’ve been friends talking about kpop! XD

Year 2015, my last birthday travel. I went to Siquijor together with my ex-boyfriend (now husband XD). Toured the place with a just motorcycle and a map and went to its famous spots. Hoping we could visit again in future.

Yep, that was the last birthday travel. Of course, I did travel on the later years but it was not because of my birthday. Mostly I travel back to Davao to visit relatives or attend events.

2016, my second time in Singapore. I got pregnant, I got married.

2017

2018

2019

2020

So birthdays.. back to birthdays. Since I moved in to Cebu, no celebration at all. Single years, outdoor adventure. Married years, I just want to get lazy all day, and not do anything at all XD. Of course, that would be a luxury if it ever happens. I really wish I could do it though, but maybe 10 years later. Haha! For now, I just want to eat my favorite food on my birthday with my family. This is already happiness. ♥

If you ever reach this part, thank you for listening to my memory lane. Ending this post at September 12, 2020, 2:12 am. Happy Birthday to me! ♥

Leave a comment