The Biko Tradition

2014-04-16 16.01.00

It has been in the tradition of Filipinos to prepare this delicacy during Lenten Season. Back in my hometown, my dad is the one who prepares this delicious biko for us while I do the food tasting.. It has always been that way. Hehehe

While most of us always claim their mom’s or dad’s have the best biko in the world, I too shall claim that my dad’s biko is the most delicious in the world. Hahaha! Not to be boastful, but whenever there’s holy week and all- saint’s day, my relatives from mom’s side (my mom too) and close neighbors always demand for dad’s biko. 😀

But since I’m not home right now, I kinda miss my dad’s biko. But hey, I’m my dad’s daughter so recreating this delicacy won’t be a problem (I think). Hahahaha!

So, here’s my attempt on cooking glutinous rice in coconut milk or BIKO for short. Recipe was adapted here. Although I modified some of the ingredients and procedures based from my Dad’s recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups malagkit/glutinous rice
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 4 cups coconut milk (you may use canned or powdered coco milk)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2  cups muscovado/coco sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp grated lime peelings (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine malagkit/glutinous rice and water. Cook it until the rice is ready. The amount of water ought to be lesser in volume so that the rice will not be fully cooked. malagkit/glutinous rice
  2. While the rice is cooking combine the coconut milk, sugar and salt in a separate pot and cook in low heat  until the texture becomes thick. Stir constantly. coco-milk mixture
    • If you don’t want too much hassle, you may opt to use the canned or powdered coconut milk which most of the recipe’s I’ve found on the internet have been using. I prefer the all-natural coconut milk. I use grated coconut plus its juice (or you can substitute 4-5 cups of hot water) and squeeze the milk out of it. Do not extract the milk yet if you use hot water. Let it cool down for a bit unless you want your hands get burned. 😀 grated coconut
  3. Once the coconut milk – sugar mixture is thick enough, add the cooked rice and mix well. Continue cooking until all liquid evaporates (Do not over cook). The reason why the rice should not be fully cooked (from 1) is that you’re gonna cook it again along with the coco milk-sugar mixture. This will also allow the rice to absorb the mixture well. 2014-04-16 14.57.05
    2014-04-16 15.22.47
  4. Add the grated lime peelings. (This prevents you from getting sick of eating too much biko, para dili sum-ol in bisaya) 🙂
  5. Transfer it in a serving plate.
  6. Optional: Fry 1 cup of left-over grated coconut and 1 cup of muscovado (or brown sugar) and garnish on top of your biko.
  7. Share and Enjoy! 🙂

biko

PS: I made a lot so I’m giving some for my neighbors too! 😀

Leave a Reply

