Cajun-Spiced Fish with Fresh Corn Salad

A friend of mine kept on asking me about fish recipes. Since she had the access to a kitchen and I have access to the internet, we decided to collaborate on our cooking sessions.

First dish was Cajun-Spiced Fish with Fresh Corn Salad from taste.com.au which can be found here.  Or you can continue reading my post. 😀

So, why this recipe? Well, I was quite curious about Cajun recipes. I’ve seen it included to some restaurants that I’ve been but never tried the dishes. I was never a fan of spicy food. Cajun recipes are apparently, hot and spicy. But my friend loves spicy food. So, I didn’t have much of a choice.

I altered some of the ingredients since it was not available on my friend’s kitchen. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons cajun seasoning*
  • 4 (175g each) boneless white fish fillets (we used smooth dory fillets)*
  • olive oil cooking spray

Fresh corn salad

  • 2 corn cobs, kernels removed
  • 250g green beans, trimmed
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup coriander leaves, roughly chopped (I used parsely for this instead)

*To think that I was determined to cook a Cajun recipe yet I don’t have the seasoning. But of course with the internet’s help, I was able to find a recipe to create it out of the available spices in the kitchen.

*You can use any fish you want. I used white seabass for my recipe.

How to make a simple Cajun seasoning: (from allrecipes.com)

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper

All you have to do is mix all the ingredients above and voila! You just created a cajun seasoning!

Directions:

  1. Bring to the boil over high heat the corn and beans. I separated boiling the corn and beans since I want the beans a bit crispy and the corns tender. But you can combine both.
  2. Drain, refresh under cold water and set aside to dry.
  3. Combine corn, beans, onion, lemon juice and coriander in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Sprinkle the cajun seasoning over both sides of fish. Gently rub onto surface with fingertips.
  5. Cook fish on a frying pan over medium-low heat.
  6. Serve with salad.

The expected output:

Cajun-spiced fish with fresh corn salad from taste.com

Cajun-spiced fish with fresh corn salad from taste.com

 

In reality,

Cajun-spiced fish with fresh corn salad by yours truly

Cajun-spiced fish with fresh corn salad by yours truly

The fish looked like a chicken drumstick but, not bad, eh? 😀

If you’re fond of spicy food, then this dish is for you! I tell you, it’s very spicy. So if you want the dish to be not-so-spicy, you can adjust  the amount of spices in your cajun seasoning. Maybe lessen the amount of cayenne pepper and paprika.

Also, you might want to try to use butter instead of lemon for the corn salad. That’s if you don’t want to make it sour or you can just lessen the amount of lemon juice.

Happy eating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

