Isang Gabi..

I’ve learned this song when we were having our class in literature. Sarong Banggi is a native song of Bicol. It means Isang Gabi, thus the title of my post. ^_^ I couldn’t understand the lyrics.. but anyways, our professor translated it to Filipino. ^_^ It’s a nice song indeed. We’re gonna perform it during our next class in Lit. So, better practice.. ayt..! ^_^

Sarong Banggi (Original Lyrics)

Sarung banggi sa higdaan
Nakadangog ako hinuni nin sarung gamgam;
Sa lubha ko katorogan
Bako kundi simong boses iyo palan..

Dagos ako bangon si sakuyang mata binuklat,
Kadtong kadikloman ako nangalagkalag,
Si sakong pagheling pasiring sa itaas,
Naheling ko simong lauog maliwanag.

Isang Gabi (translated in Filipino)

Isang gabing, maliwanag
Ako’y naghihintay sa aking magandang dilag
Namamanglaw ang puso ko at ang diwa ko lagi nang nangangarap

Malasin mo giliw ang saksi ng aking pgmamahal
Bituing nagniningning kislap ng tala’t liwanag ng buwan
Ang siyang nagsasabing ang pag-ibig ko’y sadyang tunay
Aray gabi ang panaginip ko’y ikaw

Listen the song here.

6 thoughts on “Isang Gabi..

  1. Thankyou. I am an englishman married to a Filipina

    I heard this beautiful song (Sarungbanggi) on a tape by ‘ASIN’ and was searching the web for the lyrics

  2. i hope you could provide me the lyrics with its corresponding xylophone chords of the song “Sarong Banggi.” we really need it in the drum and lyre corps of our school.

Leave a Reply

